2013 UHA Annual Meeting January 27, 2013 Outpost Performance Space 2 to 4:00 p.m.

Attendees: 16 neighborhood residents and businesspeople, Rep. Gail Chasey, Councilors Ike Benton and Rey Garduño, and Doug Lutz from the mayor's office.

- 1. President Jennifer Simpson called the meeting to order welcomed everyone. Board members and other attendees introduced themselves.
- 2. Councilors Isaac Benton and Rey Garduño discussed current projects, including Bus Rapid Transit (BRT) on Central, Girard Master Plan, UNM/CNM/Sumport Transit Study, Lead and Coal, Yale landscaping improvements, and South Yale.
- 3. Doug Lutz from the Mayor's Office discussed his work with veterans hiring, volunteers, youth, and community outreach. He stated that he would follow up with concerns raised about inadequate police presence in the area, parking permits, and Silver Avenue issues regarding speeding and the need for additional 18 mph signage.
- 4. Rep. Gail Chasey discussed issues in the legislature, including HB 127, which would provide funding for the Jazz Festival.
- 5. Board members Augustine Grace, Jennifer Simpson, Brian Stinar, Julie Kidder, Don Hancock, and Sherry Smith described board activities, including zoning, cleanups, transit, and crime and encouraged additional people to serve on the board and participate in other activities. Gordon Kennedy described how the tree program in the fall allowed him to save more than \$200 dollars and have two large trees and how that helps reforest the neighborhood, especially with many elms dying over the past 25 years.
- 6. Additional neighborhood concerns were speeding and accidents on Silver, including the need for crosswalks, more enforcement, more public education, problems where parking is allowed on both sides of the street, and conflicts among cars, bikes and pedestrians. The city is doing a traffic study so some changes could occur in 2013. Other issues were moving the unsightly dumpster at 317 Columbia, the new city recycling bins, and what might happen at the Gilchrist property.
- 7. Election of board members: Eleven members were elected, with the officers to be selected by the board. The board is:

Jennifer Simpson, Joseph Aguirre, Marlene Brown, Augustine Grace, Don Hancock, Gregory Hartman, Brian Keith, Julie Kidder, Andy Mattern, Sherry Smith, and Brian Stinar.